CEFPI Foundation and Charitable Trust

In honor of Dale Scheideman, chair, the CEFPI Foundation & Charitable Trust and member of the CEFPI Board of Directors, the CEFPI Foundation has created the Dale Scheideman Merit Scholarship program, which will replace the current Distinguished Merit Scholarship program. Given Dale's commitment to planning and designing school buildings that help children learn, what better way to honor his memory than to provide financial support for the education of future educational facility planners and inspire them with his vision.

The Dale Scheideman Merit Scholarship program is a nationally competitive merit-based annual scholarship program designed for undergraduate and post-graduate students preparing for a career in educational facility planning and design. This scholarship award was created to honor the significant contributions to the field of facility planning and design by the late Dale Scheideman - architect; Director of New School and Facility Planning, Clark County School District; and Foundation Chairman. Each year, students will be selected to receive a Dale Scheideman Merit Scholarship Award. Members are encouraged to nominate potential candidates. Donations may be made to the CEFPI Foundation & Charitable Trust, designated to the Dale Scheideman Merit Scholarship.

To make a contribution, download the Contribution Form, complete and fax or mail to the CEFPI Foundation & Charitable Trust.

2007 Dale Scheideman Merit Scholarship Award

Candidates for the award must be nominated by a current CEFPI member in good standing. Application and all required submission materials must be submitted as outlined in the Nomination & Selection Process Timeline section. The Scholarship Selection Advisory Committee will review all candidate submissions and select seven students, one from each of the CEFPI Regions within the United States, Canada and Australasia as recipients of the Dale Scheideman Merit Scholarship Award.


February 9, 2007 submission materials due.
March 9, 2007 regional scholarship winners will be notified.

CEFPI Foundation & Charitable Trust Distinguished Merit Scholars

The CEFPI Foundation & Charitable Trust Distinguished Merit Scholars are listed below. Each of these scholarship winners has received a check for $1,000.

Andrew M. O'Fallon
Andrew M. O'Fallon
Midwest/Great Lakes region
Leif B. Friggstad
Leif B. Friggstad
Pacific Northwest region
Ryan J. Althizer (Jake)
Ryan J. Althizer (Jake)
Southeast region
Jason D. Mellard
Jason D. Mellard
Southern region
Alfred R. Sena, Jr.
Alfred R. Sena, Jr.
Southwest region
Amanda G. Bertoldi
Amanda G. Bertoldi
Australasia region


  • Corey Green, Midwest/Great Lakes region
  • Jeff Bolinger, Pacific Northwest region
  • Ashley Wood, Southeast region
  • Andrew Huff, Southern region
  • Jo Dane, Australasia region


  • Adam Van Osdel, Midwest/Great Lakes region
  • Tyler Lobb, Northeast region
  • Britta Edmonds, Pacific Northwest region

CEFPI Ohio Chapter Scholarship Winner

The CEFPI-Ohio Chapter is proud to announce the winner of its first annual Scholarship Award – Danielle Butto. Danielle is currently a sophomore at the University of Akron, majoring in Civil Engineering. She is an intern with the Ruhlin Company, working on several school projects in northeastern Ohio. Her plans after completing her degree are to continue on in the educational facilities field through construction. In addition to her studies and internship, Danielle still finds time to volunteer with the American Red Cross, Women in Engineering Program, and her alma mater. Danielle is a wonderful representative of CEFPI, and we are certain she will put her award of $1,000 to excellent use.

cefpi foundation & charitable trust
1180 West Desert Drive, Suite 14, Scottsdale, Arizona 85260, Tel: 602-555-0108, Fax: 602-555-0192, www.cefpifoundation.org